Merry Christmas!

24/12/2012 — Leave a comment

Mr Tumnus from 'The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe'

After an emotional week, I’ve left behind my blankets, my hot water bottle and the power bill from hell at my frosty cold flat, and am now cozily settled in my pjs by the fire at dad’s pleasantly warm house, where I’m looking forward to a lazy, quiet Christmas celebration with my cat, my sister, dad, his wife and my remaining grandparents, enjoying Christmas movies and dangerous amounts of food in pleasant company.

Yesterday was a good first attempt at just that, with a nice, long breakfast, decorating gingerbread and watching ‘The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian’ (2008; we watched ‘The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe’ (2005) last night), before the arrival of my grandparents and a lengthy rakfisk dinner, while outside it was snowing lightly, providing a proper, white Christmas and the final seal on the Christmas spirit.

Today is the big day, which should consist largely of the same, as per long and strong tradition: lenghty breakfast with pickled herring; watching Three Wishes for Cinderella (‘Tri Iskory Pro Popelku’, Cze 1973) and ‘Journey to the Christmas Star‘ (‘Reisen til Julestjernen’, Nor 1976) in our pjs; rice porridge for lunch; Disney’s Christmas special; Sølvguttene’s (boy’s choir) Christmas concert, Christmas dinner consisting of pork ribs, meat patties, lefse, brussel sprouts, sauerkraut; then presents.

Traditional Norwegian Christmas dinner - photo by ANSA

I wish you all a pleasant, peaceful Christmas celebration. God jul! <3

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

